info · marching band · teaching

Upcoming book…

I’m in the process of writing a book tentatively titled “Arranging Classical Music for Marching Band.” It’s not going to be huge, I think…it’s designed to be a practical approach to arranging music for marching band, written so that a band director with no other arranging experience could learn to write his or her own arrangements. I hope to have it finished and available on the web site by early January.

Why “classical” music? Well, first, I’m not talking about just music from the Classical Period of music history as defined in the textbooks. I’m actually referring to music from that time period (post-Baroque) all the way to about 1920. It’s a good start for novice arrangers because most of the source music is in the public domain and a lot of the best-known literature from this time frame gives a band an opportunity to demonstrate some musical expression in their performances.

I won’t be covering Stravinsky, or anything like that where the tonal materials are more sophisticated. In fact, I’m going to focus more on the Romantic Era, orchestral and opera music mainly.

Most of the techniques can be applied to arranging in a variety of styles, so I felt this would be a good starting point for novice arrangers. So far it’s going pretty well. I hope you will enjoy it!

Leave a Reply

