jazz · teaching

“For Emily”

Here’s an excerpt from last night’s performance of the new ballad, “For Emily,” named for my eldest granddaughter. It double-times in the middle for the improv section. It features flugelhorn and tenor saxophone. The saxophonist on the recording is a high school junior, C.J. Geoga, who is already a killer player. It was a pleasure to play this piece with him (I played the flugel stuff, since it was my last concert at the school before my retirement.)

I’ll have it up on the web site shortly. I have a couple of edits to make based on things we learned in rehearsing the chart. This tune, like all of them in my catalog, is “player tested” with real, live, normal high school kids.

I hope you like it.

Leave a Reply

