jazz

“Remembrance” finished

I finished a ballad for jazz ensemble last night. It’s titled “Remembrance,” and I wrote it to feature myself (on flugelhorn) and one of my tenor players at my school. My last concert before my retirement is coming up in April and I wrote it for that performance. Once we’ve played it I will have it available for purchase.

It’s sort of an exploration into using diminished seventh chords…not a harmonic area I use very much. It has a very definite mood about it established by the harmonic progression and I tried to maintain and strengthen that in the way I scored it. It’s definitely a Grade 3,with the rhythm section parts all written out. About the only thing it needs (besides soloists who can handle the changes) is a drummer who can play a ballad with brushes. It also has a double-time section in the middle for the soloists, and to break up the slow stuff. I’m sure there will be little changes here and there before it’s ready for publication. We’ll most likely read it tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

