Uncategorized

RIP James Moody

Tenor Saxophonist James Moody passed away last Thursday. I just found out about it last night. (I tried to use my iPhone WordPress app to place this post, but it crashed on me – apparently it is a crash-prone application, unfortunately.)

I had the opportunity to meet James Moody about ten years ago, at Northwestern University. I found him to be a very warm, friendly person. He didn’t know me from Adam – I was just a high school band director there with my band for an invitational mini-festival at the invitation of Northwestern’s jazz ensembles director, Don Owens. Moody treated me like I had been a friend for years.

I’ve found that’s generally true of the really great artists, people like James Moody and Dizzy Gillespie. They not only are talented but are classy people as well.

He was a great musician, and if my brief meeting with him was any indication, a wonderful person as well. There’s another great sideman in Gabriel’s Jazz Club playing tonight!

Leave a Reply

