concert band · info · jazz · marching band · teaching

Welcome to the WaggonerMusic.com blog!

jdw on sailboat stylized Welcome, folks! As you know if you’ve read the WaggonerMusic.com site, I’m a high school band director who has begun placing some of his compositions and arrangements on the web for folks to purchase. I will try to do the following things with all the charts I offer here:

• First, they will be real-world pieces – written for and play-tested by real high school kids.

• Second, they will be value-added pieces – each will include notes, instructional materials, and other information that will aid the director and the students in teaching and learning. I’ve been doing this for over 30 years and have learned a few tricks along the way.

• Third, they are priced reasonably. I know as well as anyone that your budgets are limited, if you have a budget for new music at all! By self-publishing, and using the web as a publishing medium, I can keep my overhead low and provide you with prices about half that of the large publishers. That way, you can buy a chart and see if you like it without investing a huge amount of money.

I’ll use this space to keep you up-to-date on the stuff I’m working on, as well as other things about band directing that I find that might be helpful to you. I moved this blog to WordPress.com to make it easier to update from practically anywhere, so I can hopefully stay more timely.

Also, if you have suggestions, please let me know about that. I want to create music that will be helpful for you and that your kids will enjoy!

I hope you will try my charts! Also, if you are interested in the arrangements I’ve done for my band and others, both for marching band and jazz ensemble, the list is available here. You will have to do your own copyright clearance, of course, but the charts definitely work and I think you will be happy with them!

Leave a Reply

